Astronomy


Sun

Moon

NASA Sun Image
Today's Sun image from NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
Moon age: 8 days,12 hours,1 minutes,62%
Sunrise: 5:42am
Sunset: 9:03pm
Daylight: 15:21
Moonrise: 3:52pm (15-Jul-2024)
Moonset: 12:46am (15-Jul-2024)
Waxing Gibbous
62% Illuminated


First Quarter Moon Full Moon Last Quarter Moon New Moon
First Quarter Moon Full Moon Last Quarter Moon New Moon
Sat, 13-Jul-2024 5:49pm CDT
July 13 2024 22:49 UTC
Sun, 21-Jul-2024 5:18am CDT
July 21 2024 10:18 UTC
Sat, 27-Jul-2024 9:52pm CDT
July 28 2024 02:52 UTC
Sun, 04-Aug-2024 6:14am CDT
August 4 2024 11:14 UTC


Vernal Equinox
Start of Spring
Summer Solstice
Start of Summer
Autumn Equinox
Start of Fall
Winter Solstice
Start of Winter
Start of Spring First day of Summer First day of Fall First day of Winter
Tue, 19-Mar-2024 10:07pm CDT
March 20 2024 03:07 UTC
Thu, 20-Jun-2024 3:52pm CDT
June 20 2024 20:52 UTC
Sun, 22-Sep-2024 7:44am CDT
September 22 2024 12:44 UTC
Sat, 21-Dec-2024 3:21am CST
December 21 2024 09:21 UTC

Current Sun/Moon Position


Noon is technically when the Sun is at Zenith. Morning civil twilight is when the Sun is 6 below the horizon and ends at Sunrise. Evening civil twilight begins at Sunset and ends when the Sun reaches 6 below the horizon. Nautical twilight is when the Sun is between 6 and 12 below the horizon. Astronomical twilight is when the Sun is between 12 and 18 below the horizon.


Current Day / Night Global Map

Day / Night Map
Image courtesy of Fourmilab Switzerland


Moon Details from Weather-Display

Additional Moon facts from Weather-Display